Welcome back to Family Treasures

Preserve, curate, and share heirlooms.

⚠️ Alpha Testing. Some features may not be fully functional. Safeguard your data. ⚠️

What is a Trove Unlock Password

A Trove Unlock Password (TUP) is an optional second password that unlocks your Trove content in your browser. The server never sees it. Turning it on means that even someone with full access to the server — including a malicious operator — cannot read your Trove content.

What it does

  • Decouples "signing in" from "reading your content." Your login password gets you in the door; your Trove Unlock Password unlocks the vault.
  • Ensures your encryption keys are derived from a secret the server has never seen.

When to use it

  • When you want the strongest privacy story — the server can only ever see encrypted data.
  • When you're comfortable typing a second password when needed.

Tradeoffs

  • You have one more password to remember.
  • You may have to enter it even when using a Passkey, particularly if it was changed since your last Passkey login on a given device or if your Passkey manager is not PRF-capable.

If you forget it

In order of preference:

  1. Recovery code — the cleanest path. Restores your existing keys.
  2. PRF-capable passkey — unlocks your content on any browser where the passkey is registered.
  3. Reset without a recovery code — replaces your encryption keys. Existing Trove content can only be re-read after another member of each Trove re-grants you access using the vouch flow, or you are removed and re-added to the Trove. Troves where you are the only member become permanently unreadable. Use only as a last resort. There is nothing we can do to help you regain access to Troves if you don't have a supported recovery method available.

Related

← Back to Security Hub

An unhandled error has occurred. Reload 🗙
Offline

Rejoining the server...

Rejoin failed... trying again in seconds.

Failed to rejoin.
Please retry or reload the page.

The session has been paused by the server.

Failed to resume the session.
Please retry or reload the page.