About Trove Membership
If you are the sponsor or an administrator of a Trove, you can invite members of your family or other interested parties to join Family Treasures as users of the Family Treasures service so that they can interact with your Trove.
There is no cost to those other participants to participate in your Trove, and you can invite as many people as you like to join your Trove. You can also add members to your Trove who do not wish to interact with the site, such as children or other individuals who simply do not want to become Family Treasures users.
You can manage Trove Membership in the Trove Details section of your Trove. To get there, first be sure you've selected the Trove you want to manage from the Trove List. Then, from the Breadcrumb menu near the top of the page, select "Trove Details" and then, from the sub-menu, select "Members".
On the Members page, you will see a list of existing Members that will include yourself, as the "Owner" or "Administrator" and a default entry called "Undesignated" as well as any other Members that have been created.
The table of Members also shows the total number of Treasures that have been bequeathed to each member and, if Treasure values have been entered, the minimum total value of those Treasures.
To add someone to the Members list, click the "Add Member" button and then fill out the requested information about the Member.
The minimum information you should provide is a "Member Name", which is how this individual will be indicated within your trove. Member names must be unique, and the dialog will prevent you from using the same name more than once.
If you do not want the Member to have to create a Family Treasures account and participate in the site, then leave the "Add Email" box unchecked and simply click "Save". This Member will now show up as someone to whom Treasures can be bequeathed.
If you do want the Member to actively participate in the Trove, then check the box "Add Email" and provide the user's email address and the role you want the user to have while participating in the Trove.
Trove Roles include the following:
- Viewer: Member can basically look at the trove but not actively participate.
- User: Member can engage in conversations about items and rate their interest in Treasures, but cannot add or edit Treasures
- Editor: Member can add and edit Treasures, Memories, etc., as well as engage in conversations, rate their interest in Treasures.
- Administrator: Member can do everything an Editor can do and also manage the Member list
- Owner: Member is the sponsor of the Trove and can do everything an Administrator can do. This Role cannot be changed.
- N/A: Member is not associated with a Family Treasures user. This is the case when no email address is associated with the Member.
When associating an email address with a Member, if the address is already associated with a registered Family Treasures user, they will be notified, via email, that you've added them to this trove. Otherwise, they'll receive an email invitation to join Family Treasures, after which they'll be able to participate in the Trove.
You can tell whether an invitation to join Family Treasures has been accepted by looking at the icons next to a Member's name.
When there is a check mark next to the Member name, that means the Member is a registered account-holder at Family Treasures. A plus sign next to the icon indicates a Member has been invited to participate but has not yet registered as a Family Treasures user. When there is neither a check mark nor a plus sign, that indicates that the Member is not associated with an actual user of the site and exists only as a placeholder within the Trove.
